PRIVILEGES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

(81st Meeting)

23rd November 2017

PART A (Non-exempt)

(Meeting conducted via electronic mail)

All members were present, with the exception of Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour, Deputy S.Y. Mézec of St. Helier and Deputy S.M. Brée of St. Clement, from whom apologies had been received.

Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement, Chairman Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St. Lawrence Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier Deputy S.M. Wickenden of St. Helier

In attendance -

W. Millow, Assistant Greffier of the States K.L. Slack, Clerk to the Privileges and Procedures Committee

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only.

Appointment of the Chairman and Members of the Referendum Commission. 1417/99(1)

A1. The Committee, with reference to its Minute No. B7 of 11th July 2017, received electronic mail correspondence from the Assistant Greffier, in connexion with the intention to appoint a Chairman and 4 members of the Referendum Commission ('the Commission').

The Committee recalled that the Referendum (Jersey) Law 2017, provided for the appointment of the Commission, comprising a Chairman and 4 other Commissioners, who would be responsible for considering and giving an opinion on the wording of proposed referendum questions and designating the lead campaign groups in relation to referenda.

The Committee further recalled that it had been agreed that the Chairman of the Commission would have overall responsibility for ensuring that the Commission completed its work in a timely and appropriate manner and would be responsible for establishing relationships with stakeholders and handling media relations. Accordingly, the Chairman would require Board level, or previous experience. The other Commissioners, however, would simply be required to evidence that they could contribute to the work of the Commission in an independent and impartial manner whilst exercising good judgement.

The Committee was informed that, following the publication of an advertisement in the local media and online, 10 individuals had applied to join the Commission, of which 6 had been shortlisted for interview. The interview panel had comprised the Assistant Greffier, on behalf of the Greffier, and 2 other people, one of whom had previously been employed by the Electoral Commission in the United Kingdom. The panel had been chaired by a representative from the Appointments Commission, who, it was noted, had not participated in the scoring of candidates, or making recommendations for appointment.

Following the interview and subject to the receipt of a favourable reference in each case, the interview panel had proposed that the following individuals should be appointed –

- Mr. M. Entwistle, Chairman
- Mr. M. Boothman
- Ms. S. Mountford
- Mr. T.A. Le Sueur
- Ms. C. Littleboy

The Committee approved the appointment of the foregoing as the Chairman and Members of the Commission and, mindful that it was required to give the States Assembly a minimum of 2 weeks' notice of its intention to formally make the appointments, instructed the Assistant Greffier to take the necessary action.